Month: August 2017
Illinois Motor Vehicle Insurance
If you, or any of your loved ones, have been involved in a car accident, you might wonder how, exactly, you can expect auto insurance to work. To answer that concern, it is important to understand that Illinois is classified as a “fault car insurance state”. That means that the individual who is found at fault – the person who caused the accident – must compensate those who were injured or had property damaged as a result. In generally, the auto insurance carrier of the individual found at fault will pay for the aforementioned costs.
At Frederick & Hagle, attorneys at law, we have experience working with insurance companies to help ensure that our clients receive compensation. Let’s take a look at some of the insurance requirements for auto insurance in Illinois.
Car Insurance Requirements in Illinois
If you have a motor vehicle registered in Illinois and live in Illinois, there are certain requirements/laws that you must follow. As a driver, you are required to carry a minimum of $20,000 of insurance coverage in case anyone is injured or dies in an accident (including you or someone else). You must also carry a minimum of $40,000 in coverage that will cover the death or injury of more than one person as the result of an auto accident. Finally, you must carry $15,000 in coverage to cover property damages incurred as a result of an auto accident.
Note that these are minimums, and it is advisable to carry more than this in coverage. This is because, should you be found at-fault in an auto accident, you could be found personally liable for any damages that exceed the amount of your insurance coverage.
Uninsured Driver Coverage
In Illinois, it is required that your insurance policy contain uninsured motorist coverage. As the name implies, uninsured motorist coverage is used to help compensate you in the event that are in an accident with an uninsured driver. Instead of attempting to seek damages from their insurance company, you seek help from your own. Consider this a “safety net” of sorts. Note that while Illinois law does require that your uninsured motorist coverage be equal in limits to your policy for Bodily Injury Liability Coverage, you can make the decision to select a smaller limit. Should you opt for this, you must make that selection in writing. The lowest limit that Illinois law allows is $40,000 per accident or $20,000 per person.
Hire an Auto Accident Attorney in Illinois
If you have found yourself in an auto accident and need help to seek compensation, reach out to Frederick & Hagle, attorneys at law, today for a free initial consultation.